KochiDirectory

Guide

Shops and Establishments registration in Kochi

Kochi Directory Β· Published 20 August 2026 Β· 11 min read

Registration under the Kerala Shops and Commercial Establishments Act, 1960 is granted by an Assistant Labour Officer, not by Kochi Corporation or your panchayat, and it is due within sixty days of the day the establishment starts work. It applies whether or not you employ anybody; the Labour Department's own FAQ says so in terms. The certificate then expires on 31 December of the year it is granted, however late in the year you got it, which is why the department opens renewal in November. The fee is banded by headcount, and there is a February 2026 gazette sitting on the department's own server whose operative pages we could not read, so let the portal quote you rather than budgeting from any printed figure, this one included.

What the Act actually covers

The Act applies to an establishment, which section 2(8) defines simply as a shop or a commercial establishment. A shop, under section 2(15), is any premises where any trade or business is carried on or where services are rendered to customers, and it includes the offices, store-rooms, godowns or warehouses used in connection with that trade, whether on the same premises or not. A commercial establishment under section 2(4) is wider: a commercial, industrial, trading, banking or insurance establishment, an establishment or administrative service where the persons employed are mainly engaged in office work, a hotel, restaurant, boarding or eating house, cafe or other refreshment house, a theatre or any other place of public amusement or entertainment.

Both definitions push a factory out. Section 2(4) excludes a factory to which all or any of the provisions of the Factories Act, 1948 apply; section 2(15) excludes a shop attached to a factory where the people employed already get the benefits provided for workers under that Act.

Section 3(1) puts more outside. Establishments of the Central or a State Government, of local authorities, of the Reserve Bank and of cantonment authorities. Establishments in mines and oil fields. Establishments in bazaars where fairs or festivals are held temporarily for not more than fifteen days at a time. Persons in a position of management, and travelling staff, canvassers and caretakers whose names do not appear on the muster rolls, are excluded as individuals rather than as establishments.

The department's published FAQ is blunter than the statute: all shops and commercial establishments except those registered under the Factories Act have to register, irrespective of the number of workers. A one-person consultancy in Kakkanad is an establishment. So is a tailoring shop in Mattancherry with nobody in it but the tailor.

Sixty days, and a certificate that dies in December

Section 5A(2) gives you sixty days from the date the establishment commences its work. Not sixty days from incorporation, and not from the date on the lease deed. From the day you start trading. The FAQ words it the same way.

The renewal cycle catches people out because of a definition tucked into section 2(18): year means a year commencing on the first day of January. Section 5A(5) then says a registration certificate granted under the Act shall not be valid beyond the year in which it is granted, but may be renewed from year to year. So a certificate issued in September expires on 31 December of that same year. It buys you under four months, and you pay the same fee as the shop that registered in January.

Section 5A(6) requires the renewal application at least thirty days before the expiry of the period, which puts the deadline at 1 December. The department's FAQ tells establishments to renew from November each year with an online application, the fee and a list of employees. The two are consistent. November is simply where the thirty-day window opens.

One protection is worth knowing by name. Where a renewal application has been made in time, section 5A(6) deems the certificate to continue notwithstanding the expiry of the period, until the renewal is granted or the application for renewal is rejected. A file pending with the officer in January is not the same thing as an expired certificate, whatever anyone tells you at an inspection.

The competent authority is a labour officer, not your municipality

People assume, reasonably, that a shop licence comes from the local body. Under this Act it does not. Section 5A(1) has the employer apply to a competent authority the Government specifies by notification in the Gazette, and Kerala's notified officer is the Assistant Labour Officer (Grade II) with jurisdiction over the area. The Labour Commissionerate's own know-your-service page and the state's Right to Service notification both say so.

That notification is Labour Commissioner's Notification No. G1/20225/2012 of 31 July 2013, made under sections 3 and 6 of the Kerala Right to Service Act, 2012 and published in the Kerala Gazette, Part III, No. 35, dated 27 August 2013. It also fixes the escalation route, which nobody reads until they need it. For registration under the 1960 Act the time limit is thirty days, the designated officer is the Assistant Labour Officer Grade II, the first appellate authority is the District Labour Officer (E), and the second appellate authority is the Regional Joint Labour Commissioner of the concerned region. For renewal the limit is fifteen days, with the same chain above it.

Note the gap between two official numbers. The Right to Service limit for registration is thirty days. The Labour Commissionerate's know-your-service page gives the processing time as one day. Treat one day as what happens when nothing is wrong, and thirty days as what you are entitled to insist on when something is.

In Ernakulam the District Labour Office sits at the Civil Station, Kakkanad. Your Assistant Labour Officer will be at a sub-office nearer the establishment, so ring the district office before travelling.

You still need the local body licence, and that is a different counter

Registering under the Shops Act does not license the trade. That is the local body's job, through what Kerala municipalities call the IFTE and OS licence. Kochi Corporation uses exactly that label on its own service page, headed Licence - IFTE&OS, and links the notifying gazette beside the application form. We opened it: Kerala Gazette Extraordinary, Volume IX, No. 2950, published at Thiruvananthapuram on Wednesday 9 December 2020. The operative text is in Malayalam and did not extract cleanly, so we are not reproducing the S.R.O. number or the enabling sections that circulate on compliance sites. If you need the citation, download the gazette from the Corporation's page rather than taking ours or anyone else's.

This is also a portal problem now, not only a legal one. The Corporation's page still sends applicants to the old ILGMS citizen portal at citizen.lsgkerala.gov.in. That portal carries a notice saying the Citizen Service Portal has moved to KSMART, that from 4 April 2025 all services are on the KSMART portal, and that Grama Panchayat services are no longer available on ILGMS at all.

So check which local body you are actually under. Inside the city it is Kochi Corporation. Elsewhere in the district it may be a municipality such as Thrikkakara, Maradu, Tripunithura or Kalamassery, or a grama panchayat. Note that the block panchayats in our register are the intermediate tier, not the licensing body; the licence comes from the grama panchayat inside the block.

We could not confirm a current fee scale for the licence and will not invent one. The Corporation's renewal affidavit asks for capital investment, which suggests the fee turns on it.

What to carry

Three official pages give three slightly different lists, so it is worth setting them side by side.

The Right to Service notification says a registration application is accompanied by the treasury chalan or TR 5 receipt, a copy of the licence from the local body, and the lease agreement.

The department's FAQ words the same requirement with an or: an online application along with the fee and a copy of the licence from the local body or the lease agreement, before the Assistant Labour Officer having jurisdiction over the area, within sixty days.

The know-your-service page lists a copy of the licence from the local body, a lease agreement, a list of employees and identity proof of the employer, and offers a downloadable template for the employee list.

Carry all four: the local body licence, the lease or ownership document, the employee list on the department's own template, and photo identity for the employer. Nobody has ever been turned away for bringing a spare paper.

For renewal the Right to Service notification is tighter and clearer: the original certificate, the list of employees, and the TR 5 receipt or treasury chalan.

One sequencing point costs people weeks. The local body licence sits on the Shops Act document list, not the other way round. Starting from nothing, the order is premises, then local body licence, then Shops Act registration. And the local body will want your property tax position in order, plus, for a renewal, the previous year's licence receipt and your labour tax details, which is what Kochi Corporation's affidavit asks for.

The fee, and why we are not printing the 2026 table

Grant and renewal are charged on one banded scale that turns on the number of workers. The Labour Department's published FAQ prints it: nil workers, Rs 50. Up to 5 workers, Rs 100. Above 5 and up to 10, Rs 200. Above 10 and up to 20, Rs 400. Above 20 and up to 30, Rs 600. Above 30 and up to 50, Rs 1,000. Above 50 and up to 100, Rs 2,000. Above 100 workers, Rs 4,000.

Now the caveat, and please read it before you take cash anywhere. The Labour Commissionerate's site also hosts a gazette at a link named G.O(P)12-2026.pdf. We opened it. The cover page is genuine and reads: Kerala Gazette Extraordinary, Volume XV, No. 481, Thiruvananthapuram, Thursday, 5 February 2026, carrying S. R. O. No. 161/2026. What we could not do is read the operative pages. They are an image layer with no extractable text, and we are not publishing a fee table we have not seen.

So there is a 2026 notification on the department's own server that may well have revised these amounts, and the FAQ leaflet sitting beside it may now be out of date. Do not budget from either. LCAS calculates the fee for your band and issues an e-challan, and that figure is the one you pay. Revised fee tables circulating on compliance blogs are not a substitute for the portal's own number.

Applying on LCAS

Everything is done through LCAS 2.0, the Labour Commissionerate's application system, and the menu is the whole lifecycle rather than just the front door: online registration, renewal, licence, amendment and closure; application status and an application-wise dashboard; download of the e-challan; failed transaction retry, refund application and arrear payment; online filing of returns; separate options to download the digitally signed registration certificate and the signed licence; a self certificate scheme; national and festival holidays; online cess; complaints; and a Know Your Approval page. Technical support is listed at 8547655205.

The validity check earns its place on that list. There is a Check Certificate/Licence Validity option, so if you are buying into a running shop, or letting premises to one, you can verify the certificate rather than trusting a laminated sheet on the wall. Section 5C(1) obliges the employer to display it prominently in the premises in any case, so there should be one to check.

The department's FAQ points general queries at the Citizen's Call Centre on 155300. We could not verify the other Labour helpline number that circulates online and have not printed it.

One small warning about the Rules. They still describe a paper process, with applications in duplicate and treasury receipts sent by post, that no longer exists in practice. We were not able to open a current copy of the Kerala Shops and Commercial Establishments Rules, 1961, so we have not cited rule numbers or application form letters anywhere in this guide.

Changes, closure, and the registers behind the certificate

Section 5C is the part of the Act that keeps applying after registration, and it runs on short clocks. Any change in the particulars contained in your application under section 5A(1) must be notified to the competent authority and to the Inspector having jurisdiction within seven days after the change has taken place, with the prescribed fee. On receiving that notice the authority registers the change and either amends the certificate or issues a fresh one. Closure must be notified to both within ten days of closing, after which the establishment's name is removed from the register and the certificate cancelled. LCAS has an online closure option for exactly this.

The certificate is only the visible part of the obligation. The department's FAQ lists what an employer is expected to maintain: a register of employment in Form A, service records in Form BB, holidays given to workers in Form E, a register of holidays and leave granted in Form F, a visit book, extracts of the Act in Malayalam, and quarterly returns in Form H where there are ten or more workers.

The substantive duties behind those registers are worth reading once. Section 6 caps work at eight hours a day and forty-eight a week, with total hours including overtime not exceeding ten in any day except on days of stock taking and preparation of accounts, and overtime not exceeding fifty hours in any quarter. Section 7 puts overtime at twice the ordinary rate of wages. Section 8 requires an interval for rest of at least one hour before four hours of continuous work is exceeded, and section 9 caps the spread-over at ten and a half hours. One whole day off each week. After twelve months of continuous service, twelve days of annual leave with wages, twelve on sickness and twelve casual.

The Welfare Fund is a separate registration

The Kerala Shops and Commercial Establishments Workers' Welfare Fund Board sits alongside the Labour Department and catches the same establishments. Its own site describes the scheme as providing relief, welfare and pension for workers covered by the 1960 Act and for self-employed persons, with membership open between the ages of eighteen and fifty-five. The scheme came into force on 15 March 2007 under Government Order (M.S.) No. 29/2007 Labour, notified as S.R.O. No. 235/2007.

Registering under the Shops Act does not enrol your workers in the Fund. That is a separate step with the Board, and employers are expected to enrol every worker.

We are not going to publish a contribution split we cannot stand behind. The Board's own site states that on migrating to the new IT scheme the monthly contribution changes from Rs 50 to Rs 100. What it does not say on the page we read is how that splits between employer and employee, or which establishments the higher figure has reached. Ask the Board directly before you set a payroll deduction.

We also could not confirm the recent amendments to benefit amounts for marriage, medical assistance and death that consultants sometimes quote, so we have not reproduced them. If a compliance chart gives you a rate, look at the date on the chart before you act on it.

What happens if you never register

Honestly, not much immediately. Section 29(1) makes a breach of section 5A or section 5C punishable with a fine which may extend to two hundred and fifty rupees, and in case of continuing breach a fine of up to ten rupees for every day the breach continues after conviction for the first breach, or after receipt of a notice from the competent authority to discontinue it. These are 1960s figures that were never revised, and they are not what should motivate you.

The real cost sits elsewhere. The registration certificate is what proves the establishment exists for the Welfare Fund, for an inspection, for a dispute with an employee, and for whatever clearance next asks to see it.

Section 29(3) is the provision worth taking seriously. An employee, by himself or through his union, must complain within three months from the date the offence is alleged to have been committed. An Inspector has sixty months from the date on which the alleged offence comes to his knowledge. Five years is a long tail, and it starts running from knowledge rather than from the act. An unregistered shop is not a settled position; it is an open one.

If registration or renewal is refused, or a certificate cancelled or suspended, section 5A(8) requires the holder to be given an opportunity of being heard first, and section 5B gives sixty days from receipt of the order to appeal to the authority the Government has specified, on payment of the prescribed fee.

One possible short cut, with a caveat

Kerala runs a single window clearance portal, K-SWIFT, which describes itself as the Single Window Interface for Fast and Transparent Clearance. The Labour Department is one of the agencies plugged into it, alongside Fire and Rescue, Factories and Boilers, the Pollution Control Board, the Kerala Water Authority, Town and Country Planning, Mining and Geology, Forest and Wildlife, the Electrical Inspectorate, KSEB and the municipal and panchayat bodies.

The portal describes an acknowledgement certificate for non-red-category MSMEs that carries an exemption from obtaining building permits, trade licences and statutory approvals for three and a half years, letting an eligible enterprise start operating first. Red category units as notified by the Pollution Control Board are outside it. The portal also refers to a one-time six-month window, under guidelines it dates to March 2026, for enterprises whose three-and-a-half-year validity has expired to apply for the mandatory local licences.

Two things we could not confirm and are not going to guess at. The investment ceiling for eligibility is not stated on the page we read, and secondary sources give figures we would not put between you and trading without a licence. Nor could we establish whether Shops Act registration itself falls inside the exemption or outside it; the exemption is described in terms of trade licences and statutory approvals, which is not the same question.

Use the portal's own Know Your Approval and List of Clearances tools, which sit on the K-SWIFT front page, or ask the District Industries Centre at Kakkanad. Then register under the Shops Act in the ordinary way when the acknowledgement period ends.

The offices you will actually need

Address, phone and services for each, from our register.

Common questions

I work alone and employ nobody. Do I still have to register?

Yes. The Labour Department's own FAQ says all shops and commercial establishments have to be registered irrespective of the number of workers, and its fee table carries a band for nil workers. The Act works on the definition of an establishment in section 2(8), a shop or a commercial establishment, not on headcount. A single-person consultancy, a one-chair salon or a tailor working alone is an establishment. The broad exclusions are in section 3(1), which covers establishments of the Central or a State Government, local authorities, the Reserve Bank and cantonment authorities, mines and oil fields, and bazaars at fairs or festivals held temporarily for not more than fifteen days at a time. Factories under the Factories Act, 1948 are excluded by the definitions themselves.

My certificate was issued in October. When does it expire?

On 31 December of that same year. Section 5A(5) says a registration certificate granted under the Act shall not be valid beyond the year in which it is granted, and section 2(18) defines year as a year commencing on the first day of January. There is no pro rata fee and no pro rata refund for the unused months. Section 5A(6) then requires the renewal application at least thirty days before the expiry of the period, so 1 December is the deadline, and the department opens the renewal window in November. If the renewal application is in on time, the certificate is deemed to continue until the renewal is granted or the application rejected.

Is this the same as a trade licence from Kochi Corporation?

No, and you generally need both. Shops Act registration is granted by an Assistant Labour Officer (Grade II) under section 5A. The local body licence is separate β€” Kochi Corporation calls it the IFTE and OS licence, and publishes the notifying gazette, Kerala Gazette Extraordinary No. 2950 of 9 December 2020, beside its own application form. The order matters: a copy of the local body licence is on the document list for the Shops Act application, so the licence normally comes first. Note also that Kochi Corporation's page still links the old ILGMS citizen portal, which now carries a notice that services moved to KSMART from 4 April 2025.

What is the registration fee?

It is banded by the number of workers, and one figure covers grant and renewal. The Labour Department's published FAQ gives nil workers Rs 50, up to 5 workers Rs 100, above 5 and up to 10 Rs 200, above 10 and up to 20 Rs 400, above 20 and up to 30 Rs 600, above 30 and up to 50 Rs 1,000, above 50 and up to 100 Rs 2,000, and above 100 workers Rs 4,000. Treat that as provisional. The Commissionerate's site also hosts a gazette dated 5 February 2026 carrying S.R.O. No. 161/2026 whose operative pages we could not read, so it may have revised these amounts. Let LCAS calculate your fee and issue the e-challan, and pay that.

I have moved the shop to a new address. What do I have to do?

Notify it, quickly. Section 5C(2) requires notice in the prescribed form to the competent authority and to the Inspector having jurisdiction over the area of any change in the particulars contained in your application under section 5A(1), within seven days after the change has taken place, and section 5C(3) requires the prescribed fee with it. On receiving the notice the competent authority registers the change and either amends the certificate or issues a fresh one. LCAS has an online amendment option. Note also that a move may put you under a different local body, needing a fresh IFTE and OS licence, and under a different Assistant Labour Officer.

Which portal do I use, and can I check somebody else's certificate?

The Labour Commissionerate runs LCAS 2.0 for registration, renewal, licence, amendment, closure, returns, e-challans, refunds and arrear payment. It has a Check Certificate/Licence Validity option and a Download Signed Registration Certificate option, so you can verify a certificate rather than take a photocopy on trust β€” useful if you are buying into a running establishment or letting premises to one. Section 5C(1) requires the employer to display the certificate prominently in the premises in any case. Technical support is listed on the portal at 8547655205, and the department's FAQ points general queries to the Citizen's Call Centre on 155300.

I am closing down. Can I just stop renewing?

No, give the notice. Section 5C(5) requires the employer, within ten days of closing the establishment, to give notice to the competent authority and to the Inspector having jurisdiction over the area. On receiving it, and if satisfied the notice is correct, the authority removes the establishment's name from the register and cancels the certificate under section 5C(6). LCAS has an online closure option. Consultants sometimes mention a refund of fee where no establishment was run during the period of validity; that sits in the Rules rather than the Act and we could not open a current copy of the Rules, so ask the office rather than relying on it.

What are the working-hour rules that come with registration?

Section 6 caps work at eight hours in any day and forty-eight in any week, with total hours including overtime not exceeding ten in any day except on days of stock taking and preparation of accounts, and total overtime not exceeding fifty hours in any quarter. Section 7 entitles an employee working beyond those limits to wages at twice the ordinary rate. Section 8 requires the day to be fixed so that no period of work exceeds four hours and nobody works more than four hours before an interval for rest of at least one hour. Section 9 caps the spread-over, inclusive of that interval, at ten and a half hours. The FAQ adds one whole day off each week, and after twelve months of continuous service twelve days each of annual, sickness and casual leave.

Sources

  • https://lc.kerala.gov.in/images/pdf/ksce.pdf
  • https://lc.kerala.gov.in/sites/default/files/inline-files/FAQ%20under%20Kerala%20Shops%20and%20Commercial%20Establishments%20Act_0.pdf
  • https://lc.kerala.gov.in/sites/default/files/inline-files/Right%20to%20service%20act.pdf
  • https://lc.kerala.gov.in/index.php/en/know-your-service
  • https://lcas.lc.kerala.gov.in/office/onlinehome.php
  • https://lc.kerala.gov.in/sites/default/files/inline-files/G.O(P)12-2026.pdf
  • https://kochicorporation.lsgkerala.gov.in/en/481
  • https://kochicorporation.lsgkerala.gov.in/system/files/2023-02/Gazette%20Notification%20-%20Kerala%20Government.pdf
  • https://citizen.lsgkerala.gov.in/
  • https://ksmart.lsgkerala.gov.in/
  • https://peedika.kerala.gov.in/
  • https://kswift.kerala.gov.in/
What we could not confirm (8)

These are things this guide deliberately does not state, because we could not verify them against a primary source. If you need one of them, ring the office β€” do not rely on a figure quoted elsewhere.

  • The revised registration and renewal fee table said to take effect in February 2026. The gazette cover page is genuine β€” Kerala Gazette Extraordinary No. 481, 5 February 2026, S.R.O. No. 161/2026 β€” but pages 2 to 4 are an image layer with no extractable text, so we removed the eight rupee figures the draft carried and published only the scale the department's own FAQ prints.
  • The text of the Kerala Shops and Commercial Establishments Rules, 1961. We could not open a current copy, so we have cited no rule numbers, no application form letters, and none of the smaller prescribed fees for amendment, appeal or refund.
  • The S.R.O. number, the enabling Government Order and the sections of the Kerala Municipality Act, 1994 behind the IFTE and OS licence rules. The gazette on Kochi Corporation's page is Extraordinary No. 2950 of 9 December 2020, but its Malayalam body text did not extract.
  • Any fee scale for the local body IFTE and OS licence in Kochi Corporation or the Ernakulam municipalities and panchayats.
  • Whether Kochi Corporation's own IFTE and OS applications have migrated from ILGMS to KSMART, or only the grama panchayat services named in the ILGMS notice.
  • The employer and employee split of the Welfare Fund contribution, whether the Rs 100 monthly figure has reached all establishments, and the recent revisions to marriage, medical and death benefits that consultants quote.
  • The investment ceiling for a K-SWIFT acknowledgement certificate, and whether Shops Act registration falls inside or outside the exemption. The portal states three and a half years for non-red-category MSMEs but does not give a ceiling on the page we read.
  • The second Labour Department helpline number that circulates online. We printed only the Citizen's Call Centre number given in the department's own FAQ.

This is procedure, not legal advice. Fees, required documents and processing times are set by the relevant department and change without notice. Confirm with the office directly before you travel or pay anything.

Spot something out of date? Tell us and we will check it.

← All guides